A World Expanded

We marvel, my husband and I, about how our children have opened up our world. I’m talking about adult children, who travel, educate us, make us travel places to see them, ask us to host folks from various places, connect us with people who ask us…

And so when I read the news now, I care about the drought in Spain and the air quality in Bangkok. I was horrified at the assassination of environmental activist and indigenous leader Berta Caceras in Honduras. I care that ex president of Honduras Juan Orlando Hernandez was just now finally convicted in the U.S. of drug trafficking. And today I just shuddered at this headline in the Washington Post: “Corpses pile up in Haiti’s streets; Stench of death in capital as armed gangs rampage amid spiraling violence.”

Where is Samuel? I wonder, and is his family all right?

Who in the world do you care about?

Residents of one Port-au-Prince neighborhood barricaded a road in hopes of deterring gangs. (Giles Clarke/Getty Images)

 

3 thoughts on “A World Expanded

  1. A poignant piece! Your specificity gives so much power to what you are saying. Pablo Casals said I feel the capacity to care is the thing which gives life its deepest significance. I think the challenge of our time is to not let ourselves become desensitized to the suffering in the world. Your writing was a beautiful reminder and call to keep caring.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran,

    I expected to read about family, students, etc. when I migrated to your post. I’ve been a news junkie forever and like to think I care about lots of folks and our planet, but I know I do t do enough. Yes, travel does make us care more, but I also think about how it also glosses over the day to day. I saw the images coming out of Hati today. Our foreign policy turned Hati into the dystopian country filled w/ pain and poverty it is now.

    Like

  3. What a beautiful writing piece touching on the ability of humans to show deep levels of compassion for other human beings. It makes me feel incredibly blessed to not have to fear in ways many others do.

    Like

Leave a comment