The Busker

Coming up the Metro escalator I heard the most wonderfully calm, flowing, evocative music. As I ascended I watched the folks coming down the escalator opposite me, to see if any of them were hold a device playing music. No, it was a simple, single electric guitar, and obviously improvised. And it had that deep, echoey sound that you get playing in a concrete tunnel.

I got into my purse and wallet to pull out some cash for the busker that I expected to see at the top. He thanked me without pausing his playing. I asked him if I could take his photo and he said, sure- go ahead. 

I got to thinking how I haven’t heard buskers in a long while. Was it another loss to covid? Our just because its winter now? Or I’m not usually in the subway during rush hour? Or no one gives them money anymore? I don’t have a clue but what I do know is I loved hearing him play.

Probably many don’t like buskers, perhaps consider them beggars. I don’t. For one thing, I have known folks who did it. I knew one man who had a university job accompanying dance classes but his hourly wage was much higher when busking. I knew another classical musician in training who had to practice for hours everyday anyway, so earned a little extra practicing in the subway. I remember once exiting the subway to see the five piece brass band I had been hearing, playing wonderful spirited New Orleans Blues. And then I recall the story of when world-famous violinist Joshua Bell experimented with playing in the Washington DC subway, playing Bach on his $3.5 million instrument, to see who would stop for a moment to listen. (Guess who? Children. If you’re curious:  http://www.snopes.com/music/artists/bell.asp).

So I guess I’ll end by saying, be open! You never know what might be up at the top of the escalator or around the corner. Today this gentleman and his music made me happy. Boy, does that electric guitar sound great, reverberating in the concrete tunnel.

2 thoughts on “The Busker

Leave a comment