Tú Eres…

Okay, I’m going to say right upfront that this might be a little labored. First, I’m trying JUST a little Spanish for Multilingual Friday. Second, I’m celebrating the half-way point in this challenge, but perhaps a day early. Thirdly, well… you’ll see.

I am studying Spanish and sometime a little before Valentine’s Day I came across a cute Spanish phrase to say. “Tu eres mi media naranja,” or you are the half of my orange. It means you are my better half, or my soulmate.

Now, I don’t really believe in people completing each other or even in soulmates (sorry, all you romantics, but I am a person who has been married a long time, ha ha.) But I still was quite charmed by the phrase.

And today I want to share it with you all as a thank you to this Two Writing Teacher’s March Challenge. Thank you to the founders and thank you to all who participate. This writing challenge has made me a better writer, better teacher, better observer, appreciator, person. I think and live more deeply in March. I love what you tell me about my writing and I love reading and commenting on what you write.

Tu eres mi media naranja. Gracias.

9 thoughts on “Tú Eres…

  1. It made me smile reading this. And good for you for learning Spanish! And what a perfect (charming) saying for this Slice of Life 🍊 group.

    “’Tu eres mi media naranja,’ or you are the half of my orange. It means you are my better half, or my soulmate.”

    Golden line: “This writing challenge has made me a better writer, better teacher, better observer, appreciator, person.” I share your gratitude. 

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fran – my husband and I are learning Spanish, and I’m going to use that phrase on him today. I think he will be tickled, since we constantly complete each other’s sentences! And I second you thank you to the Two Writing Teachers team and writers. I have learned so many things from so many people. It is a wonderful space to learn, grow, and share! Muchas Gracias!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fran, the phrase IS charming! It also works beautifully with that Slice of Life badge. I, too, “think and more deeply in March.” The writing – and commenting – bring such joy. It is something our souls need.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oh, wow, Fran. This is so beautiful! “I think and live more deeply in March.” I guess I can say that too. It is a pleasure to write and read in this community. Thank you for teaching us a new saying. “Tu eres mi media naranja!” And how appropriate with that Slice of Life badge right under it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. What a perfect phrase of the slice of life! I agree with you…March is the time of the year that makes me slow down, notice more, and improve as a writer. Gracias TWT team!

    Like

  6. I love this phrase, and love how you extrapolated it to refer to all of us in the slice of life community. This slice is beautiful in both the way you write and in what you say!

    Like

Leave a comment