Help Wanted Ad- A New Month

Help Wanted Ad-

Interested party in search of a new month.

Must be fairly stable, maintaining temperatures within a reasonably narrow range.

Wind is acceptable IF falling within the category of “gentle breezes.” Balmy would be a plus.

We are looking for a month that can build on a successful foundation, such as leaf and root generation.

We desire a month adept with color, and not afraid to go bold upon occasion.

Experience is not required, as we understand that each cycle is a new, unique beginning.

In full transparency, our previous month was subject to some unfortunate mood swings. We just really need a break from all that Lion and Lamb rigamarole. 

Is your name Prilli, Avril, Aibrean, Nisan, Ebral, Kawani, Thang tu, Abril, Aprill, Avril, Duben, Kviten’, Mis Ebrill, * or related? We eagerly look forward to hearing from you.

Image: Nickfinder.com
  • April in Albanian, French, Irish, Turkish, Breton, Cherokee, Vietnamese, Catalan, Estonian (Hi, Terje!), French, Czech, Ukrainian, Welsh. 

10 thoughts on “Help Wanted Ad- A New Month

  1. Your format is singing in four part harmony with all the music putting a smile on my face. I feel the crescendo of a sunrise atop Day 1 of a new month. Somehow, I think we are in the dregs of August as we desperately seek to refill our coffee cups with extra caffeine to crank it out and breathe deep. I love your choice of format today! 

    Like

  2. I did a different mini-genre a day one year, and felt it really pushed me to do writing I wouldn’t normally do. … it shows through in your post also, so creative and fun to read!

    Like

      1. You’d have to scroll quite a bit, as it was Slice 2022, but I did things like: survey, ad, mad lib, book spine poem, a review, a eulogy, a thank you note, a birth certificate, a recipe, a cheer, a toast, a travel log, love note, top 10 list, soundtrack, proverb, bibliography, letter of rec, fortune cookie, a parody, a dream diary, and a horoscope! lol https://cookedupbybrosch.blogspot.com/

        Like

  3. Oh, I love this post so much. It is so creative. I smiled and chuckled all the way through. I especially liked: “In full transparency, our previous month was subject to some unfortunate mood swings.” I’m an April girl so I was drawn to this want ad. Exceptional! Thank you! I could see asking students to do this. I think they would be very motivated!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I also love how you rocked this format! So clever. I especially love the ending where you included all the ways April is shared in different languages. The way the weather has changed due to climate change, I think you could make a who series – a Want Ad for each month!

    Like

  5. I just returned from 2 hours in the cold and wind fundraising with my son. I read this at an appropriate time- well said and so clever!

    Like

Leave a comment